Day 3 — Enjoy Your Life

If you're not present in your day-to-day life, you're not living to fullest and haven't grasped life at its core.

If you're not present in your day-to-day life, you're not living to fullest and haven't grasped life at its core.

There are many things in our day-to-day life that we can do; we always have an option.

The other day when I was waiting in a line, I saw a younger guy who came after me. He was wearing sportswear, having a gym bag, short hair, nice and tidy.

But when he stood in the line, his whole posture resembled what an 80-year-old might look like.

He was sluggish, looking down, at his smartphone. He went on Instagram, and mindlessly kept scrolling and liking every single photo.

I was looking in disbelief. Here I am, waiting in the line, thinking about how I can improve my life, looking outside, breathing to my fullest. And then this guy comes, living like a zombie.

No offense to him, but can't you really leave your phone alone and be present?

Once he liked every photo he could find (usually about some football guys(I don't follow sports, don't ask me who they were)), he closed the app. Wow, I thought, he finally left the phone alone.

One second later, he went and opened the app again. And did the same thing. Even when he got to the line (they had multiple cashiers), he handed the credit card, while still looking at the phone. No eye contact with cashier, no human manners, nothing.

It might seem like I'm hating on the guy. And to some degree you might be right.

This only shows me that so many people are living their lives mindlessly. Living their life inside of the smartphones and PC's.

Turns out, we are complimentary to the devices, not devices to us. It's sad when you think about it.

Those devices are made to make our lives easier. And most of the people are using it to escape it.

It's not just that guy in the line...

As I was riding the bicycle to home, I've seen it everywhere. All ages. We can see this phenomenon everywhere we look.

From parents going on social media, to them handling a phone to their kids to watch some cartoon just so they can leave them alone. To teenagers taking selfies and doing some silly moves for presumably TikTok. Elderly people looking at the Facebook and seeing the recent post, with extra large fonts -- it's always funny when they ask me for some help, and I have to set up the font first, and later enlarge it back.

What makes me itch the most is people doing dumb things just for some clout. Sad reality that they don't see how they're making a fool out of themselves, and that nobody cares. How about being popular in real life, where life actually matters, instead of some 0's and 1's (binary numbers, as everything in PC's and internet is made of 0's and 1's)

I see people taking a picture of what they eat. Great job! I mean honestly, I don't get it. I get that they wish to portray like they're living this fancy life, eating amazing food, but for who, and why.

It's your life and yours only. You should be happy for yourself, not because someone liked the photo and wrote "Mmmmm! That looks tasty! When can I come?"

We got so detached from reality...

I wish that people would stop for a second and put the phone down.

If anyone needs us, they will call.

Live your life, be present, breathe fully, resist the urge to unlock your phone when there is no need.

Stop bragging to others, just so you can get some clout, some recognition, when those same people don't care at all.

With that rant, I've finished day 3 of my testing.

I'll see you tomorrow!

Don't forget, always chase your dreams.

Dejan Kopunovic