Day 6 — Find a Fun Activity

Stop Wasting Time

Day 6 — Find a Fun Activity

Yesterday I realized that I'm no longer playing video games. I have exponentially reduced how much time I spend on watching unnecessary YouTube videos.

Those 2 things were the most time-consuming activities for the previous few years.

Then I thought to myself how I wasted years on silly things, that only wasted my time.

If I continue like that, I won't have anything new in the future, I'll be completely complacent.

And for what? For some quick fun on YouTube video(s), or some gameplay, that doesn't even matter?

Unless I'm going professional into that particular game, it's wasting my time.

When I finished High School, I had another time-consuming activity, researching and learning about entrepreneurship and finance.

However, in the meantime, I was still playing video games.

Nowadays, I completely stopped playing them. I focus on my writing, reading, and watching educational content.

This all happened because I found another fun activity.

When I used to play video games and watched an endless amount of YouTube videos related to it, I lost a sense of time.

I could have started at 2 pm, and what seemingly looked like 30 minutes later, it was already dinner time.

I now lose time with writing, reading, and watching educational content.

Maybe not to that extent, as it does drain my brain and willpower. Over time, as I continue doing the activities, I'm sure it will reach and cross that level of video games.

Hundreds and thousands of hours have been consumed by video games. It will take time for me to completely replace it with something else.

But this is where fun comes into place.

I have found writing immensely fun.

Find something fun for you, something which you'll not regret in the future. Once you see how much time you have spent on a certain activity, ask yourself if it was worth it...

In almost any competitive multiplayer game, there is a ranking system.

In a certain game I've played - League of Legends - there are 10 rankings, with player base distribution. I'll name them from lowest to highest, and next to them a percentage of player base:

  • Iron - 8.6%

  • Bronze - 18%

  • Silver - 17%

  • Gold - 18%

  • Platinum - 18%

  • Emerald - 14%

  • Diamond - 4.1%

  • Master - 0.64%

  • Grandmaster - 0.048%

  • Challenger - 0.020%

I believe a similar ranking system can be applied to a real-life as well.

For my writing, I can start at Iron, and quickly go to Bronze, then Silver. Be here for a short amount of time, then progress to Gold, then Platinum. And now here is where the struggle comes.

I have to focus and keep learning, to get to Emerald, and then to Diamond.

After enough practice, and time passed, I’ll move to the top tiers of Master, Grandmaster, and Challenger.

And the only way to do this, without me wanting to rip my head off, is to enjoy the activity. Just like with gaming.

There are hard times of course, stressful, and annoying. But at the end of the day, it becomes an obsession, an addiction. You enjoy it, you love it, you want to improve.

I want to improve in my real life, rather than a video game. I want to be a "Challenger" in real life.

Find some fun activities for you, and aim for the best. Stick to it, focus, and become the top 0.020%. Become the "Challenger".

With that said, 6th day has been completed.

I'll see you tomorrow!

Don't forget, always chase your dreams.

Dejan Kopunovic